The random chat thr...

Share:
Notifications
Clear all

The random chat thread for throwing out things that don't matter

Page 32 / 48
Uncle Mush
(@uncle-mush)

I am a former pilot.  I have no fears about flying in a commercial aircraft because of the rigorous safety measures taken -- both for airframe and powerplant and pilot skill.  Like many practices, flying is very safe BUT it is also very unforgiving when something goes wrong, whether that be mechanical or pilot error.  To some degree, if I wanted to bet on better odds of surviving in an aircraft disaster, the chances of surviving a small, propeller powered aircraft emergency are much better than larger more powerful aircraft emergency simply because there are more choices of where to land a little bird than a larger or more powerful aircraft that have a shorter/faster glide slope.  I suppose it is easy (human nature) to become complacent about piloting if someone is flying often because it is so rare that something goes horribly wrong if taking all the appropriate precautions and that complacency can kill.  I know that I quit flying when I realized that I was not putting enough hours in on a regular basis to stay proficient.  I simply could not afford to fly often enough based on my financial priorities at that time in my life.  It was a no-brainer decision.  It has been decades since I have piloted an aircraft.  Could I go back out and fly one today?  If all I had to do was take off and land, yes I think I could still do that safely.  Could I safely interface with the tower, ATC, other aircraft, etc and not be totally distracted, no I could not.  Nor would I think I would have my wits about me to constantly scan the instruments and the ground looking for a place to put the aircraft down safely in the case of a forced landing.  Sooooo . . . the skies are much friendlier with me reading a magazine in coach class than sitting in the left seat up front. 🙂

ReplyQuote
Posted : October 17, 2021 6:40 pm
dev
 dev