Long, slow build an...

Share:
Notifications
Clear all

Long, slow build and swap

Page 1 / 2
(@nocoolname)
Estimable Member

I've been collecting parts for this build for about 4 years and even bought a different spyder for the basis of this project during last year.  It evolved from wanting to do a track build since I'm just over an hour away from NCM in Bowling Green Ky, to wanting power and doing a stripped down drag style build that will be street driven some. I've collected almost everything I need and have been actually working on this project off and on for about a year now. Listed below is most of the build parts and specs.

Engine and Trans

K24a1 with K20z3 head.  Innovate swap mounts.  Supertech springs, retainers and valve seals.  Moroso pan, Some adapters and plates from Tractuff for simplifying coolant lines.  Haltech Elite 1500 for engine management, DW300 fuel pump, FID1300 injectors.  GT3582 clone from VSRacing, sidewinder manifold, frozen boost heat exchanger, Davies Craig EWP150 pump for A2W setup.

RSX 6 speed trans, Innovate swap axles, Competition twin disc clutch, Ktuned slave cylinder.

Interior

Harddog double diagonal 4 point bar.  Recequip 6 point camlock harnesses and Kirkey 55 series seats.  Sparco wheel, Racepak dash for info.  No carpet, radio, speakers; pretty well stripped interior.

Chassis/suspension

Wilwood front calipers and two piece rotors, rebuilt rear calipers.  New front wheel bearings, misc small stuff. Going to pull some suspension stuff from another spyder I have.  Looped P/S lines.

Anyway, I picked up this chassis late summer/early fall of 2018; non running 1zz, rough shape inside and out, bad top etc.

I washed the car, stripped the interior out and saw what I was working with.  The car had some surface rust in spots from water leaking through the top and clogged drains.

?1