Bimmer-Bob gets an ...

Share:
Notifications
Clear all

Bimmer-Bob gets an MR2

Page 1 / 2
(@bimmer-bob)
Eminent Member

Well, here we go again. I've posted a build thread at a couple of the "other forums" and some of you may have seen those already. Or maybe not. But as I'm getting my feet wet here and finding that I kind of like it, I figured I'd start a (third) thread here as well.

Anyway, my background is mostly in Euro cars - my first car was actually an '87 Volvo, and I went through some VW's growing up as well (both air-cooled and water-cooled). More recently I discovered BMWs - first a 1990s 318ti, and then my current love, a 2010 128i:

I've also spent a few years with a diesel Mercedes W124, which I just parted with a month or two ago:

96529221 10158105770721971 2506688178329485312 o

There have also beens some Toyota in the family, however, my wife having owned an '04 Scion xB and me an '05 tC. We currently own a 2014 4Runner.

Anyway, I was recently browsing Bring a Trailer and other sites looking for a new car, very half-heartedly at first, but you know how that goes. Before I knew it I was bidding on cars. I thought I was going to go for something classic Euro - I love BMW 2002tii's and Porsche 914s's, and have recently become somewhat enamored of certain Mercedes SL's (R107's and R129's). I actually became pretty fixated on a particular 1985 Mercedes 280SL - a Euro gray-market model with only 24,000 miles and a manual transmission - and my casual car-watching suddenly felt like I was really about to buy a car:

1985 mercedes benz 280sl 1574202940b920a492f3b2253e7598a3198 48978968877 o

Unfortunately, it got away from me at auction, to the tune of $42K. I started to realize that the nice cars were going form more than I really wanted to spend on a second car that I didn't really need, at least not for any rational reason.