Share:
Notifications
Clear all

Thermostat Replace?

DesertWanderer
(@desertwanderer)
Honorable Member

I have never used the "OMG" thing before. In looking for the thermostat on my 2005 Spyder I think I now know where it applies. It looks to me like I will need to remove the AC compressor to get to it. Please oh please give me a better plan!

2007 S2000 (New Formula Red)
2005 Spyders (Two in Paradise Blue Metallic, One Super White)
2004 Tundra SR5 Double Cab (White with 2UZ-FE Engine)
2003 Tundra SR5 Access Cab (Silver Stepside with 2UZ-FE Engine)
2003 Sequoia SR5 (Black with 2UZ-FE Engine)
1970 Olds 442 W30 (Nugget Gold )

Topic starter Posted : October 8, 2020 7:34 pm
haloruler64
(@haloruler64)
Noble Member

I got the thermostat out with ease after removing the engine mount and alternator. Didn't touch the AC compressor. Of course getting the alternator out is a massive pain.

2000 Toyota MR2 Spyder, 2021 Lexus UX 250h F Sport

ReplyQuote
Posted : October 8, 2020 8:15 pm
(@dblotii)
Estimable Member

Why not consult the factory shop manual?  It is available as a free download with a little bit of searching on spyderchat.  It is also in the downloads section of Facebook Spyder group

ReplyQuote
Posted : October 9, 2020 11:04 am
dev
 dev
(@dev)
Just a member.

Are you replacing the thermostat as preventive or is it stuck?  If its working I would leave it alone.   

Thermostats from this generation of cars last a very long time.  Statistically a new one can just as easily fail in a shorter period of time.

The Thermostat in my car as well as many of the Spyders I have seen with the original engine never had the thermostat fail them but it is not unheard of as a few experienced failure but its rare.  

This is the same with the water pump in modern cars as many have the original outlasting the engine hundreds of thousands of miles but you will find examples of some that had these components go at 60k miles and its most likely luck rather than certainty.