Share:
Notifications
Clear all

A two year long coolant system experience

Page 1 / 3
(@marsrock7)
Honorable Member

Recently, I got stranded on the side of the highway after my 2ZZ blew the large coolant cap right off the engine, during or immediately after some high rpm driving. This is the second time this has happened to me.

IMG 20200217 170258

Backstory:

When I first got the car swapped and running, I filled and bled the coolant system as I had read to do. Rear raised and reservoir open, purge valves open, heater system in car also open. It went well enough, but over the course of the next few days after getting on the road I still found myself adding a little coolant. Eventually this stopped and system stabilized. 

A month later, during or immediately after some hard pulls, I blew off the large coolant cap. I chalked it up to being a noob, I rationalized I had probably left some air in the system and this caused an excess of pressure to blow the cap off (more on this later). I bought some more coolant and a new cap...

Tangent and PSA: Do not pay SuckeyWrench $5-$8 a piece +shipping for these caps. They are called Bypass Caps and you can find them at your local auto parts store for a fraction of the cost. Got mine at Napa:

IMG 20200219 125122

Back on track:

I toyed with the idea of clamping the cap to "prevent" this issue from repeating itself, but opted not to out of fear of blowing one of the other two, harder to reach, caps if there was a "next time." If I was to blow a coolant cap, I'd rather it be the most accessible one. I installed the new cap, with no clamp and refilled the coolant system, same as before, but over a period of several days before I put the car back on the road. I think I topped off once after the first drive, I felt much more confident in getting all the air out this time. I threw the extra bypass cap in the glovebox just in case.

Fast forward 22 months: