Share:
Notifications
Clear all

Anyone else into vinyl?

Page 1 / 6
haloruler64
(@haloruler64)
Noble Member

I'm just getting into vinyl on a budget. Always loved the idea not because of the sound but because of the analog nature. It still blows my mind that vinyl even works. And the best part is the huge album artwork. I picked up a two piece set of special edition clear vinyl from my favorite band Sonata Arctica. Not only are the records clear, but the album artwork is beautiful so I didn't even care that I didn't have a turntable. 

Well it was my birthday earlier this month and I decided to pick some equipment up. I've been drooling over the U-Turn Orbit turntable due to its simplicity. No features, no automatic functions, just a simple and relatively inexpensive turntable made for good audio. I managed to find one used with an upgraded Audio Technica AT95E cartridge, a heavily scuffed up cover, and some scratches on the front for $90. The cartridge had 30 hours on it and the belt was at the end of its life. I polished up the cover with Plastx and it looks pretty good now, the scratches on the front were all paint transfer and came off, and a new belt is $5. I'm also going to pick up a cue lever for it, and eventually a clear acrylic platter for them aesthetics.